Handmade sewing machine cover

I’m still working short hours due to the summer holidays so today is the first day of a five day weekend! I’m determined to make the most of my time off by getting crafty and improving my sewing skills. Inspired by the list of sewing tutorials on Alina’s blog I decided to make use of some of the fabric I received as a birthday present by making a cover for my sewing machine. I wanted to produce a cover that would be simple and quick to make so instead of following the tutorial on Alina’s blog I decided to use google images for inspiration. I really liked the simplicity of the design below so I decided to use that as the base for my own design.

I created a case like the one above using a plain cream fabric, I then added a feature piece of fabric. Instead of closing my case with ribbon I added two strips of the cream material to each side – not only did this produce a secure fastening it also helps the cover to hold it’s shape whilst on the machine.

The cover took about two hours to make and I’m really pleased with the result.

Leave a Reply

