Thursday sewing club

Hello friends, I hope you’ve had a good weekend. With Saturday being an absolute scorcher I spent the day inside hiding from the sun, I think I’m the only person who spends all summer pinning for winter. As today was a little cooler I ventured into the garden to take pictures of the bag that I’ve been sewing as part of a five week bag making course at The Craft Studio in Nottingham

As the first class was this week we started out making a ‘simple’ reversable bag. Well it seemed to be simple for the others but due to my dodgey cutting skills the handles on my bag ended up way too thin so I started it again on Friday. I gave v.1 of the bag to my mum, she’s a lot less fussy than me and has tied the handle material together and used it today to carry her work stuff.

At Thursdays class we’re going to learn how to sew the handles together. I have looked at the pattern and contemplated having a go myself but I don’t want to end up ruining my first handmade handbag so I’m going to hold fire and finish it off later this week.

I’m loving the course, as I’ve never had sewing lessons before I’m getting to learn lot of new techniques and really useful tips. However the style of the bag isn’t really me, of course I’ll use it a few times so that I can brag that I MADE IT but as red’s my grandma’s favourite colour ultimately it’s going to end up as her bag.

By the way I’ve just bought my first DSLR and am still getting the hang of it so I apologise for the blurry images.

bagv.1

v.1

Handmade reversible bag

Very Purple Person Reversible Bag

Bag

Leave a Reply

