Sewing and the industrial revolution

Now that I have a bit of money in my pocket I’m making the most of it and am regularly booking on to sewing courses to improve my skills. This Saturday saw me attend the beginners quilting class at Quiltessential.  

I discovered this class a while ago whilst researching things to do once I moved back to Derbyshire. As soon as I discovered this class I got a little giddy and booked a place straight away. As Cromford contains a canal and lots of picinic spots I have been there many times as a youngster so I knew the class would be set in beautiful surroundings. However the reason for my excitement was the location of the class which is hosted at Arkwrights Mill in Cromford – not only was Sir Richard Arkwright, who built the mills, a pioneer of the industrial revolution the mill that the class was held in is famous for giving birth to the UK’s factory system. As that mill was used for textile production being able to take a sewing class their was a fantastic experience and one I hope to repeat many times. I already have my eye on one of their bag making courses. *Im obsessed with bag making as not only do they make fantastic presents and products to sell their also practical. I’m not  a ‘girly girl’ so the practical and therefore useful elements make sewing ok.

Quitessential

As part of the course we made a patch work cushion and although I tried to match the fabric to my new tattoo I think my colour choices could be improved. I’m really proud of how the piece turned out, especially when it’s compared to my disastrous attempts when I bought my first sewing machine last August.

Quiltessential beginners

Leave a Reply

