The Hollyburn skirt

As promised earlier in the week I now have better photo’s of the skirt to show you. As highlighted in the close ups shots the skirt does have a certain ‘handmade charm’  but I’m still really impressed that I’ve managed to create and wear (at the office a day after it’s creation) a piece of clothing that I’VE MADE!!!!. Plus as its October I’ve got at least the next five months were I can wear a thick wooly jumper over the skirt to hid any errors.

Sewaholic Hollyburn Skirt

Hollyburn Skirt Pocket

Hollyburn zip

For my first project I used the  Hollyburn Sewaholic pattern from M is for Make whilst the fabric was sourced from Buttons and Bows Boutique

The things I have  learnt from this project:

1. If I’m going to regularly make my own clothes a dressmakers dummy is needed as I’m rubbish at measuring by eye

2.I am very impulsive when it comes to shopping as I purchased the dressmaking dummy above before I’d even finished the skirt

3.My sewing machine has a zipper foot and hates sewing in zips without it

4.If the sewing machine starts playing up I need to walk away and have a rest

5. Following patterns isn’t my thing. After the first few instruction I became confused and started to refer to the photos from a Hollyburn Sew-Along

6.Creativity and personalisation is my thing. Although you can’t tell from this skirt, as I was too impatient and wanted a finished garment like yesterday, but I had really strong urges to alter the pattern and customise the skirt to reflect style. I can’t ever see me following a sewing pattern step by step and I’ve already started to use pattern paper and my dressmakers module to create my own pattern for my next sewing adventure.

Leave a Reply

