A perfect afternoon

On Sunday I spent a perfect autumnal afternoon wrapped up inside Buttons and Bows Sewing Boutique eating cake and learning how to sew a basic capped sleeve blouse. The workshop, which involved constructing a sample blouse using the pattern New Look 6356, has taught me how to sew a concealed zip, ease in a sleeve and how to add bias binding. So not only did I have a fabulous time I came away with skills for life which is an awesome thing to happen on any day of the week but especially on a chilled out Sunday afternoon.

As a beginner the blouse does have a few areas that need ‘practice’ but I did learn that my concentration goes after the first hour then the ‘it’s only a sample’ attitude appears and it’s mistakes galore. Therefor I need to be a lot less slap dash and pay more attention to detail when creating an item to wear otherwise I’ll end up spending a fortune on fabric. Especially as Buttons and Bows stock a beautiful range.

With the new techniques fresh in my mind I’m going to attempt the Sewholic Renfew pattern. I have a rubbish memory so hopefully the practice will help me to remember the techniques in the future. I’ll keep you updated on my progress with the sewing so wish me luck!

Buttons and Bows Belper

Sample top full

sampletopsideview

refew next project

Leave a Reply

