A great British sewing feat – my first me-made dress

TMS_Badge_02_200px

Evening folks. Wanting a push to get me sewing more often, and eventually out of my sewing comfort zone (once I find it) I’ve decided to join The Monthly Stitch Collective. As each month participants are challenged to sew one or ore items based on a certain theme. I was certainly pushed to try something new this month as the challenge was to sew something out of a book.

I’m terrible at buying books based on their gorgeous photographs of colourful handmade creations yet I never seem to get from buying the book to actually making any of the projects. For this months stitch along, having recently purchased a discounted copy of the Great British Sewing Bee, I eventually decided to sew the free tunic pattern from the back of the book. Being a shorty at 5’2 the muslin has ended up as a loose fitting dress however I’m happy with the result.

Having made the muslin in a plain black jersey and with it turning out ok I’ve decided to declare this my first me-made dress! I even wore it to work and a sewing class this week and after a bit of LOOK AT ME I received lots of compliments about the garment. I eventually want to add embellishments to the collar area but seen as I had a job interview on Friday and have another next week (I will hopefully find out about them both next Friday) sewing is on hold for the moment whilst I prep.

Once I’m able to get back into the sewing room I’m also going to make another version of the dress/tunic in  blue flowery liberty jersey as it doesn’t take long to cut and sew the garment pieces together.

Great British Sewing Bee Tunic

5 thoughts on “A great British sewing feat – my first me-made dress

  1. Hey, I popped over to your blog from the Monthly Stitch! Congrats on your first dress! And, now I’m following your blog in my WP reader and excited to share the world of sewing with you. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Rsewlutions 2014 | Handmade by Holty

Leave a Reply

